Today, July 1, New York State’s ban on the sale of flavored vapor products other than tobacco and menthol came into effect. Pharmacies will no longer be allowed to sell any non-approved smoking cessation therapy tobacco or nicotine products.
Online sales of any e-liquid—regardless of taste—are prohibited (vapor products and cigarettes incorporated into the same clause that prohibits shipping to consumers), and components or equipment not included. According to Consumer Advocates for Smoke-free Alternatives Association (CASAA), in New York, selling or shipping vapor products to consumers will be considered a class a misdemeanor, and each vapor product will fine between $100 and $5,000.
People other than common carriers or contract carriers can still transport vapor products, but it is now limited to 500 milliliters or 3 grams of nicotine. Besides, coupons or “price reduction tools” for tobacco products are prohibited.
“Vapor manufacturers must post a detailed ingredient list including a disclosure of the nature and extent of investigations and research performed by or for the manufacturer concerning the effects on human health of such product or its ingredients.'” writes Casa. “Manufacturers are also required to list’each byproduct that may be introduced into vapor produced during the normal use of such e-cigarette.’ (This requirement does not apply to any other tobacco product).”
In April this year, New York became the fourth state in the United States to restrict the sale of flavored vaping products. The New York parliament reluctantly passed a budget bill S. 7506-B, which bans the sale of vaporized products other than tobacco. CASAA said the budget severely criticized for being debated and passed under dark cover.
“There were no opportunities for the public to weigh in on the bill unless you diligently followed the constantly changing bill numbers and language,” the organization wrote.
This is issued by Vapor Voice.